Office of the President

Forward Motion

Friday, May 7, 2010 was a day with great significance for the future of Southwestern Christian University. Following ten presidents and 64 years of rich institutional heritage, it was with tremendous emotion and tears in his eyes that Dr. Ed Huckeby accepted the responsibility as the 11th president of Southwestern Christian University.

Honored guests who gave salutations at the event included Dr. Ralph Fagin, Provost for Oral Roberts University, Dr. Mary Jones, Provost for Southern Nazarene University, Bryan Taylor, Mayor of Bethany, Oklahoma, Dr. Ronald Carpenter, Bishop of the International Pentecostal Holiness Church, and various others.

With words of passion, Dr. Huckeby declared his commitment to lead Southwestern Christian University forward in becoming a Christian liberal-arts university, “affectionately clinging to the firm cornerstone of the denominational roots on which it was built, but boldly exploring expansive horizons, opening the doors of the institutions to a multitude of students, with a variety of backgrounds and cultures”.

Today, Southwestern Christian University enters its third year under the direction of Dr. Huckeby, and the institution continues to accelerate - building momentum on its take off as a competitive, Christ-centered, liberal-arts learning institution.

E-mail Dr. Huckeby at

Dr. Huckeby at SCU's Presidential Inauguration

Read Tarod McKnight's poem "Forward Motion" by clicking here.

Read the Inaugural Address by clicking here.